MARA in Practice

Image

I started my internship at the American Crafts Council in Minneapolis. It is located in the historic Grain Belt Brewery.

The Council was founded in 1943 by Aileen Osborne Webb, to both promote and educate people in the crafts. Crafts are differentiated by utility, not style. Crafts are useable (or not so much) – like tapestries, mosaics, ceramics, woodworking, jewelry, etc.

The ACC library contains thousands of non-circulating books and magazines. They also house the archives of several crafts organizations:  American Craft Council (1941-present), Museum of Contemporary Crafts/American Craft Museum (1956-1990), World Crafts Council (1964-present) ,and the Craft Students League of New York (1932-2005).

They have a growing digital collection online. I am entering descriptions, which entails research, for conferences held by the ACC in the 1960s. I have finished my first set, which included a surprise at the end. All of the photos, with the exception of two, were credits to Don Normark. One of these exceptions included a man that I had not seen an any of the other photographs. Through some sleuthing, I was able to deduce it was the photographer Normark. It was satisfying.

I am using ContentDM and the Library of Congress authorities. I have conference books to refer to, plus some of the photos have names written on the back. The environment is lovely and quiet, and I am left free to work. My supervising librarian is helpful and said I have made no mistakes.

I look forward to starting my next set of conference photos tomorrow. I am having a blast!

Here is the link to my first collection  (mine are the 4th annual ACC Conferences photos -> http://digital.craftcouncil.org/cdm/landingpage/collection/p15785coll6

About Susan Wolfe

In the midst of a career change, moving from educator to codifier of knowledge. I desire to be a technical writer - transferring knowledge through the written word. I received my Master's of Archives & Records Administration from San Jose State University. My research focus was developing strategies enabling effective the capture of tacit and implicit knowledge from Communities of Practice (Professional Learning Communities) so that it can be can be collected and codified. I exist in the real world and online soaking up Best Practices for Knowledge Management and Immersive Education. Specialties Knowledge Management [KM]: Communities of Practice, Digital Asset Management [DAM], Project Management. Content Management Systems [CMS]: Moodle, WordPress, Drupal, Blogger, Open Wonderland, MOOCs STEM Education [Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math]: Career and Technical Education [CTE], Instructional Design, Immersive Education, Graphic Design, Digital Photography
This entry was posted in MARA and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

