Catbus takes one for the team

I finished up my first week at the American Crafts Council having logged 17.5 hours, and completing two collections: the 4th Annual American Crafts Council Conference in Seattle, WA (1961), and the 1st World Congress of Craftsmen in New York, NY (1964).

Workspace

This is where I have been working.

You can see my workspace above. My Sodastream bottle on the floor to the left (I tape a paper towel around it to catch the condensation, because I am classy like that), flavor of the day = Mio Black Cherry Energy. The basket holds the collection. The photos laying flat (in protective sheets) are processed. The white kevlar envelope holds the photos I will process after I eat my peanut butter and butter sandwich. The three-ring-binder to the left of the monitor holds the newsletters from the 1960s, there are some photos in it and details that help identify the people in the photographs. The white and blue paper are all my scribbled notes! I feel like I am playing World of Warcraft again, with all my special notes to remind me about this and that ‘quest.’ The red book to the right is the Congress Catalog. The catalog is filled with clues – some of the same photos with captions, lists of people who were in attendance, elected officials, locations, and more clues.

inception

Taking a photo with my iphone of a statement about how in the future people will be able to read and see things displayed on their phones…

I am using a PC running Windows – which only perplexes me because the scroll is reversed. ContentDM is running. I also use Google to research names in case I need help locating someone – like today – I was processing 32 photos from the 1st World Congress of Craftsmen. After working my way through the photos, I was left holding three photos of three different women. The photographer had carefully framed them, so I assumed that they were presenters at the conference. So I looked through the table of contents, and Googled every woman’s name I came across. I was able to identify all three. I was naturally pleased. Women in the 1960s commonly were called by their husband’s name. One of the first photos in the collection named Mrs. Erik Something-or-other. When I looked her up online by last name and country, she turned up as a famous fabric designer. Women are hard to identify, I will need to learn some tricks to quickly find them.

At the end of my perfectly satisfying day, I walked outside to see that my poor CATBUS had her driver’s side mirror smashed off. Much Sadness. I stood across the street through an entire traffic light cycle contemplating the tragedy. Poor thing. Well, I managed to secure the mirror inside using a USB cable from my bag. I guess she will have to see the vet tomorrow.

C47BU5

C47BU5 loses an ear.

About Susan Wolfe

In the midst of a career change, moving from educator to codifier of knowledge. I desire to be a technical writer - transferring knowledge through the written word. I received my Master's of Archives & Records Administration from San Jose State University. My research focus was developing strategies enabling effective the capture of tacit and implicit knowledge from Communities of Practice (Professional Learning Communities) so that it can be can be collected and codified. I exist in the real world and online soaking up Best Practices for Knowledge Management and Immersive Education. Specialties Knowledge Management [KM]: Communities of Practice, Digital Asset Management [DAM], Project Management. Content Management Systems [CMS]: Moodle, WordPress, Drupal, Blogger, Open Wonderland, MOOCs STEM Education [Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math]: Career and Technical Education [CTE], Instructional Design, Immersive Education, Graphic Design, Digital Photography
This entry was posted in MARA and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

