Networking my way into a great opportunity

I am surprised to have made my way into the perfect internship opportunity at a local educational software developer and training organization. I had had this organization in mind as a landing spot for after graduation – but when I found myself at the conference in December, I decided to ask the staff about who I might talk to about records administration. In less than an hour, I was armed with the names of two contacts, and knew which was the most suitable to approach.

I found the contact in the afternoon, and managed a coherent elevator speech that ended with being handed a business card with the name and email of the contact that I was assured “would interview me.” I emailed her that evening, then found her at the conference the next day, and we had a quick chat. Again – I didn’t flub that up! And I managed to walk away slowly, and turn the corner before pulling out my phone to text my husband.

I look forward to showing them what I know, what I can do, and how awesome I can truly be.

About Susan Wolfe

In the midst of a career change, moving from educator to codifier of knowledge. I desire to be a technical writer - transferring knowledge through the written word. I received my Master's of Archives & Records Administration from San Jose State University. My research focus was developing strategies enabling effective the capture of tacit and implicit knowledge from Communities of Practice (Professional Learning Communities) so that it can be can be collected and codified. I exist in the real world and online soaking up Best Practices for Knowledge Management and Immersive Education. Specialties Knowledge Management [KM]: Communities of Practice, Digital Asset Management [DAM], Project Management. Content Management Systems [CMS]: Moodle, WordPress, Drupal, Blogger, Open Wonderland, MOOCs STEM Education [Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math]: Career and Technical Education [CTE], Instructional Design, Immersive Education, Graphic Design, Digital Photography
This entry was posted in MARA and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

