Negotiations and Compromises

As I waited for the administration to allow me to go to my internship, I was able to start working – some remotely and some on-site for my supervisor. I struggled with how to approach the task of determining if the “recommended” retention schedule developed by the State of Minnesota was “up to date” in relation to special education student records. I attacked from all directions, aimlessly stabbing in multiple directions: MN Statutes! Federal Codes! Other school district recommendations!

Spinning my wheels – it was pointless. I finally stopped myself and created an excel spreadsheet that would allow me to record the retention requirements for specific record series. So at this point, I think I am on the right course. My supervisor was on jury duty this week and I would like to have something solid to show her on Monday.

My principals decided that if I “came in early” then they would not mind if I left at 2:15 everyday…great. So I again find myself doing a full-time job, and internship, and struggling with grad school requirements. This will not be good. I will have 1.2 the time I wanted at my internship – and still have way too much work to do for my current job as a teacher – grading on weekends when I need to write papers.

Also the chore of determining/verifying retention schedules is a lot of work with not a lot of pay off. So, telling my supervisor that I worked “x-number” of hours will probably seem like a stretch when I underwhelm her with the evidence I have (now) found.

So I am not feeling very happy at the moment.

 

 

About Susan Wolfe

In the midst of a career change, moving from educator to codifier of knowledge. I desire to be a technical writer - transferring knowledge through the written word. I received my Master's of Archives & Records Administration from San Jose State University. My research focus was developing strategies enabling effective the capture of tacit and implicit knowledge from Communities of Practice (Professional Learning Communities) so that it can be can be collected and codified. I exist in the real world and online soaking up Best Practices for Knowledge Management and Immersive Education. Specialties Knowledge Management [KM]: Communities of Practice, Digital Asset Management [DAM], Project Management. Content Management Systems [CMS]: Moodle, WordPress, Drupal, Blogger, Open Wonderland, MOOCs STEM Education [Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math]: Career and Technical Education [CTE], Instructional Design, Immersive Education, Graphic Design, Digital Photography
This entry was posted in MARA and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

